African Beads

To me, the words Africa and beads go together like Romulus and Remus, Baskin and Robbins or Damon and Runyon. In fact, I started working in polymer clay because I wanted to replicate millefiore African trading beads.

So last year, when I was lucky enough to travel in South Africa
I bought beads and bead work in dinky little stores, outdoor markets and anywhere else I could.

I found the beads you see above at a wonderful store in Capetown called Bead Merchants of Africa.  The beads are are brass Abijas, blue glass, amber/copal, and millefiore trading beads. Most of these beads are not native to South Africa, but Bead Merchants carries everything!

I have designed a necklace with them and just need to put it together. Alas, it sits unfinished in my workshop! When it is finished, you’ll be the first to see it.

3 responses to “African Beads

  1. I’ve been meaning to travel to Bead Merchants of Africa for the longest time!

    It’s funny, I stumbled on your blog from Google…I just started my own blog on African beads…check it out if you’re interested: Africanbeads.org

    🙂

  2. Awesome Post!
    What a style.I also like it very much.I think that your article is very excellent for us.Reading this site has been a lot of experience.
    Thanks for sharing !

    Munmun Nishi 🙂

Leave a Reply

